Friday Night Movies – Sherlock Holmes

As I was sitting in class this morning thinking about what movie John and I should watch tonight, I was reminded that I didn’t review LAST Friday’s movie, which was Sherlock Holmes. I really wanted to do this one too because I enjoyed it so much.

So, two words… Jude and Law.

Now, because I didn’t choose this movie, I can not be accused to renting it for this reason alone. Though it is a good enough reason to do so. Oh, my dear, darling, adorable Mr. Watson. I will admit my crazy crush on Jude, but only because he is the only celebrity I have a crush on. Absolute truth. I think John is ok with this because he has his own.

I first fell in love with took note of Jude in The Talented Mr. Ripley. Very dashing.

And of course as the adorable, vulnerable and faithful Inman. W.P Inman. “Repeatin’ a thing doesn’t improve it.” Ah, Inman. You are too precious for words.

Word is that the part of Watson almost went to Colin Farrell. Shoot, what a tragedy that would’ve been!

Oh yeah, Holmes is played by Robert Downey Jr. Whatever.

I wasn’t expecting it to be a 2 hour movie, but it was full of action and super quirky dialogue. Another great thing is that it was clean enough for Johnny (11 years old) to watch the next day. Pretty violent, but no sex or language. And he loved it, let me tell you. All the science and logic won him over.

I was able to find a collection of classic Sherlock Holmes e-books online for free. These are all public domain now which is pretty friggin’ cool. I intend to print one out for Johnny to read and see how that goes. He’s smart, but sometimes the language of these older books is a bit much too much handle.

I am now taking movie suggestions for tonight should you care to cast your opinion.

Have a super weekend! Take time to play with your kids, read in bed and snuggle with your significant other. As long as you have clothes on your back and clean dishes to eat off of, the rest of the housework can wait.

7 Comments

Filed under Friday Night Movies, Uncategorized

7 responses to “Friday Night Movies – Sherlock Holmes

  1. Happy SITS sharefest!! (I love Jude Law!!)

  2. I have yet to see this movie. Now I really want to see it. Jude Law is pretty cute. So I need to see this. :]

    Thanks for stopping by my blog!
    Happy SITS Saturday Sharefest

  3. My husband and I watches that movie last Friday, too! It was good enough for both of us to like. It wasn’t my favorite, but it was pretty good. I couldn’t get over Watson’s girlfriend’s eyes. I just kept seeing sex in her eyes. My husband ignored my complaints, but I thought it was a bit abnormal.

    • Valerie

      LOL! That’s hilarious. That’s how I am watching Dancing with the Stars. I complained every night (till she left) about Edyta’s clothing… er, lack of clothing. Husband would be like, “Hey, I see no problem with it.”

      Thanks for stopping by!

  4. I forgot that was out now! We’ll have to see about buying it or waiting to see it on the Movie Network (we don’t rent movies usually).

    BTW, do you know you can import your posts from your Blogger blog to this one? I did it when I moved from my Typepad blog to my WordPress one (as well as when I moved from Blogger to Typepad) and now all my posts are on my one blog! 🙂

  5. I enjoyed Sherlock Holmes; I thought the cinematography was amazing. I love the way movie makers can capture the look and feel of a time period so well when they want to!

Leave a Reply

