Raaaaaaandom Baking!

 My sister-in-law thinks that my ‘random baking’ should be like iCarly’s ‘random dancing’… so now whenever I get the itch to bake something I hear an echoey voice in my head saying, “Raaaaaaaaaaandom baking!” This is probably funny only to myself.

I’m spending the day with my best fwiend Isak, so I had a helper. We looked through Martha Stewart’s Cookies book and he ‘mmm’ed at every single page… over 300 pages.

We chose Butter Twists because I thought it would be fun for him to roll and twist.

They wanted to crack and break when we twisted them. The trick is to make the dough nice and warm in your hand and then super-duper gently twist. Isak suggested we  call Martha Stewart to tell her this. I told him I didn’t have her phone number.

These are a pretty dense cookie, but nice and buttery and not too sweet. They are very good dipped in coffee or milk.

Martha Stewart’s Butter Twists

  • 1/2 cup unsalted butter, room temp.
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 1 large egg white
  • 1 1/2 cups plus 2 tbsp. flour
  • 1/2 tsp. coarse salt
  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Put butter and sugar in the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with the paddle attachment; mix on medium speed until creamy. Mix in vanilla and egg white. Reduce speed to low. Add flour and salt; mix until combined.
  2. Roll dough into 3/4 inch balls. Roll each ball into a 6-inch log. Bend log in half, then twist. Space 1 inch apart on baking sheets lined with parchment paper.
  3. Bake, rotating halfway through, until cookies just begin to turn golden, 13 to 15 minutes. Let cool on parchment on wire racks. Cookies can be stored in airtight containers at room temperature up to 3 days.
7 Comments

Filed under Cooking & Baking, Uncategorized

7 responses to “Raaaaaaandom Baking!

  1. these do look yummy.. will definately have to try themI love anything that you can dunk in coffee

  2. These look so yummy! Ellie, my 3 year old and cookie addict will love to make these. Thanks for the recipe.

    Happy SITS Sunday!

  3. Oh those sound super yummy! I love baking and I can’t wait until my girls are old enough to do more than stir! Good for you for getting Isak involved!

  4. Wow, these look amazing. Also thanks for visting. You have a new reader!

  5. I personally had been searching for plans for my own blog site and observed ur article,
    “Raaaaaaandom Baking! | Unbound”, do you really mind
    if I utilize several of your tips? I am grateful ,Bernadine

  6. I get pleasure from, result in I found just what I used to
    be looking for. You’ve ended my 4 day long hunt! God Bless you man. Have a great day. Bye

  7. Have you ever considered about including a little bit more than just your articles?
    I mean, what you say is important and everything. However imagine if you added some great pictures or videos to
    give your posts more, “pop”! Your content is excellent but with images and videos, this site could definitely
    be one of the very best in its field. Wonderful blog!

Leave a Reply

