Banana Cupcakes

So in the middle of the night I was thinking about the 2 over-ripe bananas waiting in the bowl above my microwave. I usually make banana bread with them but I thought I would throw caution to the wind and make cupcakes instead.

I’m just wild like that.

I used Martha Stewart’s Banana Cupcakes with Honey Cinnamon Frosting recipe, but only the cupcake part. Turns out they are more like banana bread than actual light fluffy cake. They really should be labeled as Banana Muffins. They’re good, but they’re not ‘cupcakes’. Reguardless, it gave me a reason to make buttercream and use my new star tip.

Martha Stewart’s Banana Cupcakes Muffins.

  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour (spooned and leveled)
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, melted
  • 1 1/2 cups mashed bananas (about 4 ripe bananas), plus 1 whole banana, for garnish (optional)
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1/2 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
    1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line a standard 12-cup muffin pan with paper liners. In a medium bowl, whisk together flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, and salt.
    2. Make a well in center of flour mixture. In well, mix together butter, mashed bananas, eggs, and vanilla. Stir to incorporate flour mixture (do not overmix). Dividing evenly, spoon batter into muffin cups.
    3. Bake until a toothpick inserted in center of a cupcake comes out clean, 25 to 30 minutes. Remove cupcakes from pan; cool completely on a wire rack
    5 Comments

    Filed under Uncategorized

    5 responses to “Banana Cupcakes

    1. These look soo good! I am going to have to make them. Thanks!

    2. Valerie

      YM 🙂 My husband just loved ’em.

    3. These look YUMMY! The frosting especially–thanks for sharing!

    4. Oh my word Valerie! Now I am just dying for a cupcake. Or muffin. Or anything with bananna! And I LOVE your icing. How pretty is that? Fantastic : )

    Leave a Reply

    