Friday Night Movie – The Box

 

“I have an offer to make. If you push the button, two things will happen. First, someone, somewhere in the world, whom you don’t know, will die. Second, you will receive a payment of one million dollars. You have 24 hours.”

Last night we watched The Box, staring Cameron Diaz and James Marsden. I was really looking forward to it because I recognized it right away as a remake of The Twilight Zone’s Button, Button. I remember sitting on the floor of my livingroom in my jammies watching this movie as a child and have gotten it out of my head. I had high hopes.

Six words: Cameron Diaz with a Virginian accent. This threw me off right away, but I’ll admit that it wore on me and it had the effect of making me forget who she even was. So kudos to Cameron for breaking out of her stereotype.

James Marsden. Had trouble placing him. Oh yeah! How could I forget Prince Edward?

I won’t post spoilers, but let’s just say I’m glad I took a nap that afternoon because it was longer and more complicated than it needed to be, but since I never complain about about an evening curled up  next to John in a dark room, I give it an 8.

Also, we had peanut butter cheesecake.

Time to give homage to the original… watch it on You Tube  (posted in several parts, but this is the first one)

Leave a comment

Filed under Friday Night Movies

Leave a Reply

